Fast Facts
- Population
- 8,396 (2020 census)
- Elevation
- 6,936 ft; most of the city sits above 7,000 ft
- Best Season
- Winter for snow, September–October for the aspen
- Nearest Interstate
- I-80, which passes just north of town
What to Know Before You Arrive
Silver built this town. Prospectors found silver, gold and lead in the 1860s, which sparked the first mines; the Ontario silver mine, found in 1872, was the first major producer, and the settlement that grew around the workings incorporated as Park City in 1884. The Victorian buildings on Main Street are mining money, not resort architecture — 64 of them are listed on the National Register of Historic Places.
The Olympics are the second layer. Deer Valley and Park City Mountain Resorts were the major locations for ski and snowboarding events at the 2002 Winter Olympics, and the Utah Olympic Park above the town took the bobsled, skeleton and luge. Those venues are expected to be used again when the Games return in 2034. Unusually for Olympic infrastructure, they never went dark in between.
The third layer has just been removed. The Sundance Film Festival ran here from 1978 until 2026 and then moved to Boulder, Colorado. For a town of 8,396 people, losing an event of that scale is not a minor adjustment, and a visitor arriving now is seeing Park City in the middle of working out what it is without it.
The Road Trip Stop
Utah Olympic Park at 3419 Olympic Parkway is the anchor, a nearly 400-acre venue built for the Salt Lake 2002 Winter Games that holds one of only four sliding tracks in North America. The venue and its museums open daily, 9:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m.
The season decides what you can actually do
- The museums are open year-round; the activities are not. The Winter Bobsled Experience runs to a season ending on 11 April, and the summer activity pass runs 22 May to 20 September. That leaves two shoulder gaps in the year when the park is a museum rather than an experience.
- Check what is running before you drive up. When this guide was checked, the park was carrying a notice that all summer activities had closed for the year. The museums and guided tours continue regardless.
- Entry, parking and the two museums are free; the bobsled is ticketed. The park's own FAQ says visitors may explore the facility without buying general-admission tickets, that parking is at no charge, and that the two museums are complimentary. The Winter Bobsled Experience page lists a standard rate of $225* per person and a holiday rate of $249* for riders 13 and over and at least 100 lbs, and the park says 2026-2027 tickets go on sale on 26 October, so confirm the rate when booking opens.
- It is 25 miles east of Salt Lake City, by the park's own reckoning, which makes it a comfortable half-day from the city rather than a separate trip.
*Fees subject to change, please check utaholympiclegacy.org for updated information.
Neighborhoods
Historic Main Street
The mining-era commercial street, carrying 64 Victorian buildings listed on the National Register. It is steep, short and walkable, and it is where the town's eating and shopping is concentrated.
Prospector and Park Avenue
The corridor running north from Main Street toward the highway, less historic and more practical.
Deer Valley
South-east and uphill, one of the two resorts that took the 2002 ski events.
Kimball Junction
Out by I-80, along Highway 224 north of the historic centre, where the modern development and the outlet shopping at Junction Commons sit. Summit County's neighbourhood plan calls Kimball Junction the designated town centre of the Snyderville Basin and the primary retail-commercial shopping district in the region, and says recent developments there have added lodging. We were unable to confirm an official distance from Main Street.
The Food Stop
The High West Saloon sits on the historic street serving house-distilled whiskey, cocktails and mountain cooking across a historic saloon bar and the Livery Dining Hall, open 11:00 a.m. to 9:00 p.m. daily with the bar walk-in only. It is a 21-and-over venue, by its own description, so it is not a family stop — worth knowing before driving there with anyone younger. Note also that its own page describes it as being on historic Main Street while giving its address as 703 Park Avenue; confirm the location before setting out. Telephone (435) 649-8300. For families, Main Street's other rooms are the place to look.
The Home Teams
No MLB, NFL, NBA, NHL or MLS team plays in Park City, which at 8,396 people is far too small for one. Salt Lake City, 25 miles to the west by the Utah Olympic Park's own reckoning, is home to the NBA's Utah Jazz and the NHL's Utah Mammoth, who play at the Delta Center, while MLS's Real Salt Lake plays at its own stadium in Sandy, Utah. What Park City has instead is Olympic-standard competition venues that still host international events.
Day Trips
| Destination | Time | Distance | How we got it |
|---|---|---|---|
| Salt Lake Cityguide | 43 min | 31 mi | routed |
| West over the pass on I-80 to Temple Square, the grid and the airport. | |||
| The Mirror Lake Scenic Byway | 1 hr 5 min | 46 mi | routed |
| East into the Uinta Mountains on UT-150, which crests at 10,715 feet and is closed to automobiles in winter; the Utah Office of Tourism says it is typically open to regular traffic from mid-May to mid-fall. | |||
| Heber Valley | 48 min | 28 mi | routed |
| South, with a heritage railroad whose track runs alongside the Provo River to Vivian Park. Its Deer Creek Express excursion is a 90-minute round trip with views of Deer Creek reservoir. | |||
| The Cottonwood canyons | 1 hr | 45 mi | estimated |
| In Big Cottonwood and Little Cottonwood canyons, alongside the Salt Lake City metro area, which hold four more ski areas: Snowbird and Alta in Little Cottonwood Canyon, Brighton and Solitude in Big Cottonwood Canyon. UDOT says traction devices are required during severe winter weather on roads throughout Utah, including both canyons, and that requirements can be put in place 24 hours before a storm begins. | |||
| Provo and Sundance Resort | 1 hr | 46 mi | routed |
| South-west, where the resort that, by its own account, gave the festival its name sits a couple of miles up a mountain road off the Provo Canyon highway, separately from the town that hosted it. | |||
1 of these is a place the Hub has its own guide to — marked guide and linked from the name.
Routed figures are computed over map data at free-flowing speeds, between map points rather than street addresses, so a real drive runs longer. Rows marked estimated are this guide’s own figure and have not been routed.
Distances routed by OSRM and places geocoded by Nominatim, over map data © OpenStreetMap contributors (ODbL)
Worth a Weekend
22 more Highway Heads places lie within about 180 miles of Park City in a straight line — far enough that most are a night away rather than an afternoon.
- Mountain America Museum of Ancient LifeUtahabout 25 mi
- BYU Museum of PaleontologyUtahabout 30 mi
- Monte L. Bean Life Science MuseumUtahabout 30 mi
- Utah Lake State ParkUtahabout 30 mi
- Nebo Loop National Scenic BywayUtahabout 60 mi
- SalinaUtahabout 120 mi
- Territorial Statehouse State Park MuseumUtahabout 120 mi
- Black Rock Desert volcanic field (Ice Springs lava flows and Tabernacle Hill)Utahabout 130 mi
- Eagle Canyon view areaUtahabout 130 mi
- Ghost Rocks view areaUtahabout 130 mi
- Green River State ParkUtahabout 130 mi
- John Wesley Powell River History MuseumUtahabout 130 mi
- Spotted Wolf Canyon view areaUtahabout 130 mi
- Cove FortUtahabout 150 mi
- Fremont Indian State Park and MuseumUtahabout 150 mi
- Goblin Valley State ParkUtahabout 150 mi
- Sego Canyon Rock Art Interpretive SiteUtahabout 150 mi
- Arches National ParkUtahabout 170 mi
- BeaverUtahabout 170 mi
- Rabbit Valley Trail Through Time and Mygatt-Moore QuarryColoradoabout 170 mi
- Dinosaur JourneyColoradoabout 180 mi
- MoabUtahabout 180 mi
Annual Events Nearby
Within 60 miles of Park City, nearest first.
What is on, and when
Sundance Film Festivalcultural festivalPark City / Salt Lake City
- Usually
- January, over several days
- Held at
- Multiple theaters
- Since
- 1978
This is a list of what is near you, not a recommendation of any of it. Events are listed by the month they usually fall in, because that is what we hold — we do not publish dates, and a month is not a promise. Check the organiser before you plan around one. Opening times, line-ups and ticketing change without notice, so check the venue’s or organiser’s own site — every name above links to it.
Historic Sites Nearby
1 near Park City, each checked against the operator or agency that runs it.
Historic Main Street, Park City (Park City Main Street Historic District)Public spacePark City
- Hours
- Public street; no hours. Shops and restaurants keep their own.
- Admission
- No fee information.
- Season
- No season stated.
Park City's historic main street, rebuilt after the Great Fire of 1898 and listed on the National Register of Historic Places as the Park City Main Street Historic District.
- official_url is a Summit County history page (county, not city); basis set to city_government for want of a county option
- No street address; NRHP record location reads 'Park City; Main St.'
- County page is a historian's description of the street in 1903, not visitor information
- Same page credits the P.C. Museum, located on Main Street (not researched as its own row)
Run by Park City (public street); history page from Summit County
This is a list of what is near you, not a recommendation of any of it. Opening times and prices here are quoted from each operator’s own page on the date we read it, and both change without notice. Where this list says an operator does not publish their hours or their price, that is what we found on their page — 1 of these publish no hours and 1 state no price. A blank is not “free” and not “always open”, so ring ahead where it matters. Every name above links to that page.
Practical Road Trip Info
Most of the city is above 7,000 feet. That is high enough to matter on the first day, particularly for anyone arriving from sea level and going straight up the mountain.
Check the season at the Olympic Park. The activities run in two defined windows and the shoulder months leave the museums only.
Main Street parking is time-limited. The Park City Museum lists parking on Main Street, behind the museum on Swede Alley and in the China Bridge parking garage, and the city's rate table gives Main Street a three-hour maximum. We were unable to confirm from an official source how steep the historic district is; the city's parking pages list current rates and limits.
January is no longer festival month. After 2026 the Sundance crowds move to Colorado, which changes both availability and prices in a way that had been predictable for nearly fifty years.
One public campground within 25 miles of Park City, and it takes reservations. Public campgrounds run by federal agencies. State-park and private campgrounds are not included.
The Local Debate
Family-Friendly
The Olympic Park museums
Open daily year-round with 2002 Games exhibits, which works when the outdoor activities are out of season.
The sliding track
The sliding track is also used for training and competition, and the park says the Winter Bobsled Experience schedule varies with them. The park's FAQ states that roads leading to and from the bobsled track are closed to the public and points visitors to a guided tour that takes in the track. We were unable to confirm whether training runs can be watched from the side; the park (435-658-4200) can say.
The Park City Museum
Mining history on Main Street, including the original territorial jail in the basement of the historic City Hall, which the museum itself calls “an unforgettable experience”. Admission is free for ages 17 and under.
The Heber Valley Railroad
A heritage train south in Heber City, whose Deer Creek Express is a 90-minute round trip, which is the easy option on a day with no snow and no energy.
Plan Your Visit
Utah Olympic Park
- Address
- 3419 Olympic Parkway, Park City, Utah 84098
- Hours
- Venue and museums open daily 9am to 6pm
- What it is
- Nearly 400 acres built for the Salt Lake 2002 Winter Games; one of only four sliding tracks in North America
- Seasons
- Winter Bobsled Experience to 11 April; summer activity pass 22 May to 20 September; museums and guided tours year-round
- Admission
- We were unable to confirm current admission or parking charges; the park's own page does not state them
We checked opening hours, fees, contact details, seasonal opening and operating status on 2026-10-12. These change without notice — confirm with utaholympiclegacy.org, parkcityhistory.org, redbanjoparkcity.com, cottonwoodcanyons.udot.utah.gov and parkcity.gov the week you travel.
Sources — 26 claims, 24 checked against the source on 2026-10-12
| Claim | Source | Status |
|---|---|---|
| Utah Olympic Park, 3419 Olympic Parkway, Park City, Utah 84098; “Built for the Salt Lake 2002 Olympic Winter Games”; “located in Park City, just 25 miles east of Salt Lake City, Utah”; nearly 400 acres housing “one of only four sliding tracks in North America”; venue and museums “Open Daily | 9 am to 6 pm”; Winter Bobsled Experience season ends 11 April; summer activities 22 May to 20 September, with a notice on 2026-10-12 that all summer activities had closed for the year; admission and parking charges not stated | Utah Olympic Park — Utah Olympic Legacy | Checked monitored · 2026-10-12 |
| Population 8,396 at the 2020 census; elevation 6,936 ft, with the city lying “mostly higher than 7,000 feet above sea level&rdquo | Park City, Utah — Wikipedia | Checked |
| Founded 1869 and named Park City on incorporation in 1884; “The finding of silver, gold, and lead sparked the first silver mines in Park City in the 1860s”; the Ontario silver mine, found in 1872, “was the first major producer&rdquo | Park City, Utah — Wikipedia | Checked |
| Deer Valley and Park City Mountain Resorts “were the major locations for ski and snowboarding events at the 2002 Winter Olympics” and are expected to host again for the 2034 Games; Utah Olympic Park hosted the bobsled, skeleton and luge track | Park City, Utah — Wikipedia | Checked |
| Park City hosted the Sundance Film Festival “From 1978 until 2026”; “After 2026, the festival will relocate to Boulder, Colorado”; Park City retains the Sundance Institute's Utah office | Park City, Utah — Wikipedia | Checked |
| “On Main Street, 64 Victorian buildings are listed in the National Register of Historic Places&rdquo | Park City, Utah — Wikipedia | Checked |
| High West Saloon, 703 Park Avenue, Park City, UT 84060, (435) 649-8300; open 11am to 9pm daily; described by its own site as “Park City's premier 21+ whiskey destination, located on historic Main Street” — note the page gives Main Street in the description and Park Avenue in the address; house-distilled whiskeys, the Livery Dining Hall and Historic Saloon Bar; bar is walk-in only | High West Saloon | Checked |
| Utah Olympic Park admission and parking: “Utah Olympic Park venue has ample parking at no charge”; visitors are welcome to explore “without purchasing tickets for general admission”; the two museums are “open year-round and complimentary”; all roads leading to and from the bobsled track are closed to the public and the FAQ points visitors to a guided tour that visits the track; contact telephone 435-658-4200. The Winter Bobsled Experience rates are on the separate bobsled page (checked 2026-10-14) | Utah Olympic Park FAQ — Utah Olympic Legacy | Checked monitored · 2026-10-14 |
| Park City Museum, 528 Main Street: adults (18+) $15, seniors 65+, students and military $11, ages 17 and under free; parking is available on Main Street, behind the museum on Swede Alley and in the China Bridge parking garage (checked 2026-10-14) | Visit — Park City Museum (admission and parking) | Checked monitored · 2026-10-14 |
| Red Banjo Pizza, 322 Main Street, Park City, UT 84060, (435) 649-9901: “Located on Historic Main Street”, “a family favorite since 1962”, “family-friendly atmosphere”, menu of pizza, sandwiches, pasta, salads and a full bar (checked 2026-10-14) | Red Banjo Pizza | Checked monitored · 2026-10-14 |
| Mirror Lake Highway (state Route 150): “closed to automobiles during the winter”, “Typically, the road is open to regular traffic mid-May to mid-fall”, crests at 10,715 feet; Heber Valley Railroad track runs “alongside the renowned Provo River to Vivian Park” and its Deer Creek Express is a 90 minute round trip (hebertrain.com); Sundance Mountain Resort is “a couple miles up a winding mountain road” off the Provo Canyon highway (sundanceresort.com) | Scenic Mirror Lake Highway — Visit Utah (Utah Office of Tourism) | Checked |
| Day-trip distances from Park City to Salt Lake City, the Mirror Lake byway, Heber Valley, the Cottonwood canyons and Sundance Resort: no official page found that states them from Park City's centre (Visit Utah gives Kamas as 18 miles east of Park City and the Mirror Lake Highway as 42 miles long; the Utah Olympic Park puts itself 25 miles east of Salt Lake City). Drive times are not used (house rule 1) | No source accepted yet | Not confirmed |
| Kimball Junction: reached from I-80 Exit 145; Junction Commons (“formerly Outlets Park City”) lists “60+ Shops, Outlets & Restaurants”; from Park City Main Street the way is north on Highway 224 (checked 2026-10-14) | Directions — Junction Commons | Checked |
| Kimball Junction is “the designated Town Center in the Snyderville Basin” and “the primary retail-commercial shopping district in the region”; recent developments have introduced new residential, workforce housing, lodging and entertainment uses; the plan states no distance to Park City Main Street (checked 2026-10-14) | Kimball Junction Neighborhood Plan — Summit County, Utah | Checked |
| Historic mine structures at Park City Mountain and Deer Valley Resorts are “highly visible from town and along familiar skiing, hiking, and biking trails”; the Historic Mine Route is described as a 7-mile self-guided loop linking 24 historic mining sites, beginning and ending at the Park City Museum on Main Street (checked 2026-10-14) | Friends of Ski Mountain Mining History — Park City Museum | Checked |
| The Dungeon: “visiting the original territorial jail in the basement of the historic City Hall is an unforgettable experience” (checked 2026-10-14) | Permanent exhibits — Park City Museum | Checked |
| Open every day from 10am to 5pm; closed Thanksgiving Day and Christmas Day; the museum reserves the right to open late, close early or close for the day (checked 2026-10-14) | Visit — Park City Museum (hours) | Checked monitored · 2026-10-14 |
| Winter Bobsled Experience standard rate $225 per person and holiday rate $249 per person (holiday dates December 26-30 and January 2); riders must be 13+ years of age and 100+ lbs; 2026-2027 dates and tickets stated as available Oct. 26; the schedule varies based on training, competitions and maintenance requirements of the sliding track (checked 2026-10-14) | Winter Bobsled Experience — Utah Olympic Legacy | Checked monitored · 2026-10-14 |
| Delta Center, the Utah Jazz arena, is “located in downtown Salt Lake City” (checked 2026-10-14) | Jazz arena information — NBA (Utah Jazz) | Checked |
| The Utah Mammoth fan guide is for games at the Delta Center (checked 2026-10-14) | Know before you go — Utah Mammoth (NHL) | Checked |
| The stadium is described by its operator as “a soccer-specific stadium in Sandy, Utah” and the home of Real Salt Lake of Major League Soccer (checked 2026-10-14) | Home stadium of Real Salt Lake — stadium site | Checked |
| Snowbird Resort and Alta Ski Area are in Little Cottonwood Canyon (SR-210); Brighton Resort and Solitude Mountain Resort are in Big Cottonwood Canyon (SR-190) (checked 2026-10-14) | Cottonwood canyons ski resorts — Utah Department of Transportation | Checked |
| Traction devices are required during severe winter weather conditions on roads throughout Utah, including Big and Little Cottonwood Canyons; UDOT can put requirements in place 24 hours before a storm begins (checked 2026-10-14) | Traction law — Utah Department of Transportation | Checked monitored · 2026-10-14 |
| Big Cottonwood Canyon and Little Cottonwood Canyon are “nestled right alongside Salt Lake's greater metro area” (checked 2026-10-14) | Ski and snowboard — Visit Utah (Utah Office of Tourism) | Checked |
| The city's published parking rate table lists Main Street with a time limit of 3 hours maximum (checked 2026-10-14) | Parking rates — Park City Municipal Corporation | Checked monitored · 2026-10-14 |
| How steep Park City's Historic Main Street is: no official page found (searched parkcityhistory.org, parkcity.gov, visitparkcity.com, planning documents) | No source accepted yet | Not confirmed |
Road Trippin’ with the Harts
The Highway Heads books turn the miles between stops into a game the whole car can play.
See the booksLive Conditions
Wildlife Spotted Nearby
Nearest Airports
Straight-line distance from Park City, not drive time.
- Salt Lake City International (SLC) — 27 miles
- Provo Municipal (PVU) — 32 miles
- Ogden Hinckley (OGD) — 47 miles
Also in
A stop on this page turns up in other Highway Heads collections.
Explore the Full Road Trip
Return to the Highway Heads map and discover the next family-ready stop.
Explore the Map